Homemade protein bars – an experiment

Ever since I can remember, I’ve had some kind of protein snack after my workouts. This has to be going on at least 2 years or so. I have been making the recipe in the New Rules of Lifting for Women for protein balls.

Since I decided that this was the week I was going back to the gym, I needed to start making my protein snack again. I decided to try something new. So I went to my trusty Pinterest and found a pin for this recipe. The author says he had a hard time with the consistency of the bars, but I decided to take it head on.

I used almost the same ingredients except less PB (about a cup),  cinnamon and Body Fortress Chocolate whey protein powder. I have no idea why the author says it fit into a 9 X 13 pan. I tried to do that but realized I had nowhere near enough mix to fill the pan. I decided on my trusty loaf pan and spread out the mixture:

Hm, not too pretty. According to the directions, you should refrigerate these overnight and then cut them into bars the following day. As soon as I pulled them out of the fridge, I knew this was going to be messy. I sliced into the loaf:

What a gooey mess. I don’t think refrigerating the mixture helped at all. I decided to wrap them in clear wrap and freeze them. (This is what I usually do with the other protein recipe I use) There is no way I am showing that – it just didn’t look right.

At this point I am thinking this is not going to turn out well. Was I wrong! I pulled out a now protein ball and left it in the car while I worked out. The gym was horribly hot today and I was just melting. On the way back home I started eating my protein snack and it was heavenly! Because it was frozen it was still a bit cold and it felt like I was eating ice cream. It really helped me cool down.

Overall, I am satisfied with the snack. I don’t think I will be making them in the summer because I am pretty sure they will turn into a lumpy mess. I think next time I will try some chunky peanut butter. Maybe it will help it stay together better – that’s what works in my other protein snack.

I did a quick breakdown in calories, but forgot to include carbs. I’ll have to recalculate that at another time. For one snack it is 208 cals, 12g fat and 14g protein. Somehow the fat content has me a little worried. Granted, I will only eat these after my lifting workouts.

PS – I forgot how hungry lifting makes me. I tracked calories today and I do think I am under cals for the day. No wonder I feel like I am starving right now!

2 responses

  1. You should know fat doesn’t make you fat 🙂 Don’t worry about the fat content at all!

    1. I do, but that number seemed kind of big!

Leave a comment